Field Team Sports

The Softball Centre (Womens Team)

The Softball Centre

The Softball Centre (Womens Team) Logo
Add to favourites

About Us

Softball was first played in Brisbane at Victoria Park in 1945. 23 clubs affiliated with Brisbane Women’s Softball Association in 1965 with 66 teams participating in the inaugural competition at Downey Park. Brisbane Softball’s association with Downey Park has continued ever since. The Association is Queensland’s largest softball association, comprising 15 member clubs (See Affiliated clubs below) and boasting approximately 800 players. Players are drawn from the south east region including, greater Brisbane, Gold Coast, Caboolture and Ipswich.  Summer and Winter competition is conducted at the Downey and O’Callaghan Park complexes. BSA provides competition, player development and representative opportunities to men and women of all ages interested in softball.  The Association has been a major force in state softball, winning countless State Championships as well as providing over 200 State and Australian players and 13 Olympic representatives. It hosts various national and State championships as well as providing home and training facilities for the Australian Institute of Sport and Queensland Academy of Sport. BSA also maintains close association with Queensland Education by providing the Downey Park facility and equipment for the conduct of secondary school competition and championships.


Quick Facts About The Region

The Softball Centre (Womens Team) is located in the suburb of Windsor, the ward of Enoggera in the council of Brisbane, the state electorate of Clayfield and the federal electorate of Brisbane.